lists · parenting · Uncategorized

16 Things To do This December: With the kids

Hey Y’all! I’m excited to be writing this post! It’s not baby or pregnancy related, but very family related! I’ve made a list of just fun, family things to do together in the month of December.

I want my children to remember the holidays as a time when we were all together, having fun and making memories. I want them to remember the holidays as a joyous time. Their childhood should be fun and memorable. I strive to give them just that.

So, I’ve created this list of things for my family to do and decided to share it with all of you!

πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„

  1.  If you haven’t already, (I know most people have) put up your Christmas tree and decorations/lights outside.
  2.  Make hot cocoa and listen to Christmas music.
  3. Read the story of Christmas, Jesus’s birth and explain to your kids the real meaning of Christmas.
  4. Write letters to Santa.
  5. Go light seeing.
  6. Go see Santa at the mall or wherever he appears in your town.
  7. Make Christmas cookies.
  8. Watch Christmas movies that your kids love (The Polar Express), drink hot cocoa and eat Christmas cookies while wearing cozy jammies!
  9. Watch the “old” Christmas movies; you know…Rudolph the red-nose reindeer, Frosty the Snowman, Santa Claus is coming to town, A Charlie Brown Christmas, etc…
  10. Buy a kit and build a gingerbread house. Let the kids get creative! I enjoy doing this as much as the kids do! πŸ™ˆ
  11. Go to your church Christmas play or any other Christmas play you can find. If possible, let the kids participate!
  12. Do random acts of kindness with your kids. Whether it be giving a homeless person hot cocoa, paying for someone’s order or giving bags of candy to unexpecting recipients; Showing your kids that the season is about giving will stay with them forever and they’ll appreciate it. It feels great, too.
  13. Make homemade ornaments. Get as creative as possible! Use recycled plastic, construction paper, pine cones, popsicle sticks, whatever you can find! Oh, and use all the glitter! πŸ˜‰
  14. If you get snow, build a Snowman! Go sledding down a hill or pull the kids on old tires with rope!
  15. On Christmas Eve, read the book, “The Night before Christmas”. I will keep this tradition alive for as long as I can!
  16. Wake up early on Christmas morning to open stockings and gifts. My parents always did this with us and I now do it with my husband and kids. My mom comes over and and it’s just a blast! We celebrate with our families on Christmas Eve and the kids do gift exchanges and adults play Chinese christmas. Everyone leaves with a gift or two, so we don’t go without gifts that night. Christmas morning is for our house gifts to each other. This is my favorite tradition &  I hope my kids always enjoy this, too.

    I hope you guys enjoy your December! Making holiday memories is the best! ‘Tis the season! ❄
    Xo,

    K❀
    P.s…What did your kids ask for or what are you getting them? Leave your answers in the comments! Our oldest wants new pink shoes (boots & tennis shoes) and sports gear like daddy! Our little one will just get toys and clothes, of course. Still debating whether to get them a swing set or not. They won’t be able to wnjoy it right away (weather), so we may just wait.

    Leave a Reply

    