How-To · pregnancy · Uncategorized

How we’re getting healthier this year…

(Haha! Pic from: Instagram)

In the spirit of new year’s weight loss resolutions, I thought I’d share a little bit on how we try to stay “healthy”. I’m not very green, I don’t workout (since being pregnant, not that you can’t…I just don’t because I’m lazy), and I really like donuts. That being said, I really enjoy eating healthier and keeping healthy options in our house, such as fresh fruits and greek yogurt.

I feel like if we don’t keep “junk” in the house, we won’t eat junk. In our case, this holds true because we don’t have a grocery store in our small town, making it harder to run out and buy whatever we are craving. Not having a grocery store, I have to make sure I get all the things we need when I do a grocery haul, which I did last week. I got fruits, yogurts, salad, chicken, etc.

Though I didn’t set a new year’s goal to lose weight, I did set a general goal to be healthier. So, starting this week, Derek and I are going to be “on the grind”, meaning we’re going to be eating better, trying to drink more water and striving to be a little more active.

(Pic from: Pinterest)

We like to do a 6 small meals a day type of thing. We basically do just that. We have a decent breakfast, a snack two hours later, lunch, a mid-afternoon snack, dinner and then something a little later (Around 8, because we eat dinner early, like 5:30/6:00 p.m.). Here’s an outline of what a typical day might look like (food wise) for us.

  • Breakfast: 8 A.M. A bagel with cream cheese, an apple and a glass of OJ.
  • Snack 1: 10 A.M. A serving of almonds and a cheese sticks.
  • Lunch: Noon. A veggie packed salad with lunch meat or chicken.
  • Snack 2: 2:00/3:00 P.M. An apple with nut butter.
  • Dinner: 5:30/6:00 P.M. Grilled chicken, veggies (steamed, grilled or baked) and brown rice.
  • Late “Snack”: 8p.m.-ish. A smoothie filled with fruits and veggies or a yogurt topped with granola.

(Pics all taken from my personal instagram page (linked below).)

That’s just an idea of how a day might look. This keeps us from binging on chips or cracker and helps keep us full throughout the day. Water helps fill the in-between moments, too. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I do feel generally better and less sluggish when I’m eating healthier, less greasy, less processed foods. We don’t starve ourselves and we find these meals just as tasty as anything else. We’re not health freaks, so of course we’ll still eat cheese burgers and keep our 1/2 gallon of bluebell in the freezer, ya know, for safe keeping 😊.

If you’d like to know more about the other snacks I keep around for our girls or myself, feel free to ask. I may even do a post about it! There’s lots of different yummy foods we keep on hand and I’d love to share with you. I know lots of people think eating healthy is expensive, but it’s actually not. You just have to shop smart, only for what you need and search the ads for local deals!

How are you being healthier this year? Are there any habits you’re looking to quit or form? Let me know in the comments! I love getting comments from my followers and enjoy relating to everyone!

Have a great week, y’all!
Xo,

K❀

Leave a Reply

