#MOMLIFE · Marriage & Stuff · parenting · pregnancy · Uncategorized

The grass ain’t always greener…

Hey Y’all! Can you believe it’s mid-month in our new year already?! I just realized that. How crazy! I feel like I’ll be giving birth in no time at all! Haha, but really!

[Pic: My personal instagram]

I’m currently 5.5 months pregnant. I’m starting to feel every bit of the discomfort that comes with mid – later pregnancy. I’m okay though. I don’t have any serious complications and baby is completely healthy. Thank you Jesus!

Anyhow, I felt like I needed to make this post, because it’s been on my heart. Learning to praise God in the good times and bad and being happy with what I have. For the record, I couldn’t be happier with my life and the way God has set everything in its time to lead me to where I am today, with my husband and kids. However, I do still catch myself envying other people’s lifestyles from time to time; mostly those “perfect” instagram moms who just seem like they have it all together with 5 kids, a huge house that’s always spotless and make a fine living off blogging! 🙄

When I look at all that these women have, I wish it was “that easy” for me. I start to think how they spend $80 on skincare products without even batting an eye and wish I was able to do that…and then I get a big fat reality check!

While out to lunch last week with Derek, I spotted a couple. We were at a deli on the “rich side” of town. We walked in an there was a line. This couple was ordering with their little girl and they looked like the perfect “instagram family”. They looked like they had no worries in the world. They probably didn’t look at us that way. Kimbrynn’s hair was a mess and we probably looked like we were in need of sleep! 😂

We ended up sitting in the booth right next to said couple. I sat closest to them and could hear everything they were saying. (I wasn’t actively trying to eavesdrop, but Derek was on the phone when we sat down and Kimbrynn was busy feeding herself.) They fought the entire time. He told her everything she’d been doing wrong and she told him how he always acts like a jerk. He talked about his severe anxiety and she gave him *I don’t care* responses. They had so much to dish out at each other, all while their little girl watched Peppa Pig on her mom’s phone.

I had to move to the other side of the booth. I couldn’t take it. My marriage isn’t perfect. We get upset with each other, but we don’t dish it out in public, over lunch, loudly for all neighboring tables to hear. I felt sorry for the both of them. My husband may not have all the money in the world, but he treats me with respect and honesty. I’m not a perfect wife. I don’t clean every day or make meals from scratch, but I listen to my husband intently and respect him and his decisions as an equal partner in our marriage.

I know how blessed I am to be married to Derek. I grew up with crap marriage examples. I thought marriage was supposed to be how those people were handling it. I thought you were supposed to constantly be angry with each other and scream your issues at one another. I didn’t know marriage could be how ours is, until we showed eachother that it could be.

I often think I’m doing it all wrong…marriage, kids, everything. Except, you can’t do it wrong because there is no right way. There is no perfect way to parent, but the way you’re parenting is perfect for you and your family. There’s no such thing as a perfect marriage, but what works for you and your spouse is perfect…as long as it works for the both of you. You see, people only show us what they want us to see. Atleast, anyone with common sense does. 

No one has it all together. We all have our downfalls, weaknesses and things we’d rather not share with social media. The thing is, the person you’re envying, does too. That blogger mommy with perfect white couches, still gets spots on that couch…or can’t let her kids near it with literally anything. That #fitmom that does bikini competitions? She can’t have anything to eat unless her coach approves it. She probably envies your breakfast post! Social media is not real life. Sometimes real life isn’t even what it looks like.

The grass is greener where you water it. Comparison is the thief of all joy. You’ll never be happy with anything until you learn to be happy with what you’ve already got. I know you’ve heard it a million times, but just let it really sink in this year…today! Wake up and realize that you’re living your best life NOW! 

[Pic: Google Images]

I hope everyone is having a great year so far! Things could always be better…but they could also be worse! Live each day as its own. Don’t worry about yesterday or tomorrow. Yesterday is history…and tomorrow may never come.
Xo,

K❤

One thought on “The grass ain’t always greener…

  1. Hi K, I love your blog especially this one bc it is so authentic and sincere. We’ve all been there and we need to support each other as moms, daughters, wives etc… keep up the great posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

